What You Need To Know

Discover your rights and protections regarding wages, overtime, and employee classification. If you've faced unpaid overtime or workplace violations, contact Josephson Dunlap for expert representation and guidance.

Unravel the complexities of labor regulations and ensure fair treatment in your workplace.


Florida State Flag


Florida Minimum Wage Laws

Florida’s minimum wage will rise to $13/hour on September 30, 2024, aiming for $15/hour by 2026. The current minimum wage for tipped employees is $8.98/hour.

30 Minutes

Breaks for Minors

Employees under the age of 18 who work continuously for more than 4 hours must be given meal periods lasting at least 30 minutes. Otherwise, employers are not mandated to offer meal breaks to employees over the age of 18.

2 Years

Filing Claims

Florida’s Statute of Limitations for overtime claims aligns with the Fair Labor Standards Act, requiring lawsuits for unpaid back overtime wages to be filed within two years of the employer’s violation. This means that a lawsuit filed today can only seek back overtime pay for the previous 2 (or sometimes 3) years.


Florida Overtime Pay Laws

Florida’s overtime laws align with federal regulations. Non-exempt employees are entitled to overtime pay (time and a half) for hours worked beyond 40 in a workweek. Common federal exemptions apply to Professional, Executive, Computer Employee, and Administrative.


Employment-at-will State

In Florida, employment is at-will, allowing employers to terminate employees at any time and for any reason, as long as the reason is not discriminatory and there is no written employee contract in place.