What You Need To Know

Discover your rights and protections regarding wages, overtime, and employee classification. If you've faced unpaid overtime or workplace violations, contact Josephson Dunlap for expert representation and guidance.

Unravel the complexities of labor regulations and ensure fair treatment in your workplace.


Hawaii State Flag


Hawaii Minimum Wage Laws

The minimum wage in Hawaii is $14.00/hour, and the minimum wage for tipped workers is $12.75/hour.


Meal & Rest Breaks

In Hawaii, employers are not mandated to offer meal breaks except for a 30-minute break required for minors aged 14 and 15. If employers provide do provide breaks, then they must follow federal guidelines and ensure that short breaks lasting 20 minutes or less are compensated.

2 Years

Filing Claims

Hawaii’s Statute of Limitations for overtime claims aligns with the Fair Labor Standards Act, requiring lawsuits for unpaid back overtime wages to be filed within two years of the employer’s violation. This means that a lawsuit filed today can only seek back overtime pay for the previous 2 (or sometimes 3) years.


Hawaii Overtime Pay Laws

Employers must compensate non-exempt employees at a rate of one and a half times their regular rate for hours worked beyond 40 in a workweek.


of Independent Contractors

Employers must correctly classify workers as employees or independent contractors. Mislabeling workers to avoid paying overtime is unlawful.