What You Need To Know

Discover your rights and protections regarding wages, overtime, and employee classification. If you've faced unpaid overtime or workplace violations, contact Josephson Dunlap for expert representation and guidance.

Unravel the complexities of labor regulations and ensure fair treatment in your workplace.


Idaho State Flag


Idaho Minimum Wage Laws

The minimum wage in Idaho is $7.25/hour. Tipped employees must be paid at least $3.35/hour, with tips expected to make up the difference to earn them at least the federal minimum wage.


Meal & Rest Breaks

In Idaho, employers are not obligated to provide meal breaks. If employers choose to offer breaks, those lasting 20 minutes or less must be paid according to federal law. Longer meal periods of 30 minutes or more are unpaid, provided employees are free to use the time as they wish.

2 Years

Filing Claims

Idaho’s Statute of Limitations for overtime claims aligns with the Fair Labor Standards Act, requiring lawsuits for unpaid back overtime wages to be filed within two years of the employer’s violation. This means that a lawsuit filed today can only seek back overtime pay for the previous 2 (or sometimes 3) years.


Idaho Overtime Pay Laws

The FLSA mandates employers to pay to non-exempt employees overtime at one and a half times the regular rate for hours exceeding 40 per week. Additionally, certain employees, such as some salaried workers, are exempt from overtime pay.

Termination laws

Employment-at-will State

Employers are allowed to terminate employees without a written contract for any non-discriminatory reason, as long as it’s not retaliation for lawful actions.