What You Need To Know

Discover your rights and protections regarding wages, overtime, and employee classification. If you've faced unpaid overtime or workplace violations, contact Josephson Dunlap for expert representation and guidance.

Unravel the complexities of labor regulations and ensure fair treatment in your workplace.


Illinois State Flag


Illinois Minimum Wage Laws

In Illinois, the current minimum wage is $15/hour for non-tipped employees. For tipped employees, the minimum cash wage is $9/hour, with the expectation that tips will make up the difference to at least $15/hour. If the combined cash wage and tips do not equal the standard minimum wage, the employer is required to make up the difference.

20 Minutes

Per 7.5 Hours

In Illinois, employees working a continuous shift of 7 ½ hours or longer are entitled to a 20-minute meal break, provided no later than 5 hours into their shift. This break can be unpaid. Employees under the age of 16 working more than 5 hours are entitled to 30-minute minor breaks.

2 Years

Filing Claims

Illinoi’s Statute of Limitations for overtime claims aligns with the Fair Labor Standards Act, requiring lawsuits for unpaid back overtime wages to be filed within two years of the employer’s violation. This means that a lawsuit filed today can only seek back overtime pay for the previous 2 (or sometimes 3) years.


Illinois Overtime Pay Laws

The FLSA mandates employers to pay to non-exempt employees overtime at one and a half times the regular rate for hours exceeding 40 per week. Additionally, certain employees, such as some salaried workers, are exempt from overtime pay.

Termination laws

Employment-at-will State

Employers are allowed to terminate employees at any time and for any reason, as long as the termination is not discriminatory or retaliatory against the employee for exercising their legal rights..