What You Need To Know

Discover your rights and protections regarding wages, overtime, and employee classification. If you've faced unpaid overtime or workplace violations, contact Josephson Dunlap for expert representation and guidance.

Unravel the complexities of labor regulations and ensure fair treatment in your workplace.


Indiana State Flag


Indiana Minimum Wage Laws

In Indiana, the current minimum wage is $7.25/hour for non-tipped employees, and $2.13/hour for tipped employees. Additionally, Indiana allows a training wage of $4.25/hour for employees under 20 years of age during their first 90 consecutive calendar days of employment.

20 Minutes

Per 7.5 Hours

Employers in Indiana are not mandated to provide breaks, but if they do, breaks shorter than 20 minutes must be paid. For minor employees working six or more consecutive hours, Indiana law requires employers to provide either one or two breaks totaling 30 minutes.

2 Years

Filing Claims

Indiana’s Statute of Limitations for overtime claims aligns with the Fair Labor Standards Act, requiring lawsuits for unpaid back overtime wages to be filed within two years of the employer’s violation. This means that a lawsuit filed today can only seek back overtime pay for the previous 2 (or sometimes 3) years.


Indiana Overtime Pay Laws

The FLSA mandates employers to pay to non-exempt employees overtime at one and a half times the regular rate for hours exceeding 40 per week. Additionally, certain employees, such as some salaried workers, are exempt from overtime pay.

Termination laws

Employment-at-will State

In Indiana, employers are allowed to terminate employees at any time and for any reason, as long as the termination is not discriminatory or retaliatory against the employee for exercising their legal rights..