What You Need To Know

Discover your rights and protections regarding wages, overtime, and employee classification. If you've faced unpaid overtime or workplace violations, contact Josephson Dunlap for expert representation and guidance.

Unravel the complexities of labor regulations and ensure fair treatment in your workplace.


Kentucky State Flag


Kentucky Minimum Wage Laws

Kentucky’s minimum wage matches the federal rate at $7.25/hour, with tipped employees earning a minimum of $2.13/hour. While not mandatory, employees are allowed to opt-in to voluntary tip pooling arrangements.


Meal & Rest Breaks

Unless mutually agreed otherwise, Kentucky employers must provide a meal break between the third and fifth hour of work. Meal periods are unpaid. Employees are also entitled to a 10-minute rest break after every 4 hours of work.

2 Years

Filing Claims

Kentucky’s Statute of Limitations for overtime claims aligns with the Fair Labor Standards Act, requiring lawsuits for unpaid back overtime wages to be filed within two years of the employer’s violation. This means that a lawsuit filed today can only seek back overtime pay for the previous 2 (or sometimes 3) years.


Kansas Overtime Pay Laws

The FLSA requires employers to pay non-exempt employees’ overtime at one and a half times the regular rate for hours over 40 per week. If non-exempt employees work all seven days in a week, their employer must pay overtime for hours on the 7th day at the same rate.

Termination laws

Employment-at-will State

In Kentucky, Employers are allowed to terminate employees at any time and for any reason, as long as the termination is not discriminatory or retaliatory against the employee for exercising their legal rights.