What You Need To Know

Discover your rights and protections regarding wages, overtime, and employee classification. If you've faced unpaid overtime or workplace violations, contact Josephson Dunlap for expert representation and guidance.

Unravel the complexities of labor regulations and ensure fair treatment in your workplace.

Connecticut State Flag


Connecticut Minimum Wage Laws

Connecticut's minimum wage is $15.69/hour. Starting January 1, 2024, it will be adjusted for econimic indicators. Tipped employees earn $6.83/hour.

30 Minutes

Per 7.5 Hours

In Connecticut, most employees who work for at least 7.5 consecutive hours are entitled to a meal break of at least 30 minutes. This meal break should occur sometime after the first 2 hours of work and before the last 2 hours of work.

2 Years

Filing Claims

Connecticut’s Statute of Limitations for overtime claims aligns with the Fair Labor Standards Act, requiring lawsuits for unpaid back overtime wages to be filed within two years of the employer’s violation. This means that a lawsuit filed today can only seek back overtime pay for the previous 2 (or sometimes 3) years.


Connecticut Overtime Laws

The Connecticut Department of Labor and state law mandate that employers must compensate non-exempt employees at a rate of 1.5 times their regular pay for any hours worked beyond 40 in a workweek. Overtime is calculated on a weekly basis.

Final Paychecks

in Connecticut

Employees who are terminated must receive their final wages by the next business day. For employees who voluntarily quit or separate due to a labor dispute, final wages must be paid by the next regular payday.